Everything You Want to Know About Disney Pixar COCO #PixarCocoEvent

Posted on: November 13th, 2017 by

Please note Jersey Family Fun does participate in affiliate programs. If you use our link to purchase Disney Pixar COCO movie tickets, a small commission does go to Jersey Family Fun to support our free services to readers, but this does not affect your ticket price.

 

Disney Pixar Coco movie image

THE LAND OF THE DEAD – In Disney•Pixar’s “Coco,” aspiring musician Miguel (voice of Anthony Gonzalez) finds himself in the Land of the Dead—a rich and vibrant community featuring bridges of marigold petals. Directed by Lee Unkrich, co-directed by Adrian Molina and produced by Darla K. Anderson, Disney•Pixar’s “Coco” opens in U.S. theaters on Nov. 22, 2017. ©2017 Disney•Pixar. All Rights Reserved.

 

We have been talking about Disney Pixar COCO since March! I can not believe that now we are only days away from its release on November 22, 2017! I have been excited about this movie from the start. My good fortune to not only attend one, but to attend both #PixarCocoEvent press junkets has only made my love for the movie grow. I can not wait for you all to see it with your own families. I know I’ve already made plans to take one of the grandmas with us when I take my boys to see it next week. So as you count down the days till the Disney Pixar COCO release, I hope you’ll enjoy my review, the trailers, my articles and that it does help you find everything you want to know about Disney Pixar COCO. 

 

Everything You Want to Know About Disney Pixar COCO

 

About Disney Pixar’s COCO

Despite his family’s baffling generations-old ban on music, Miguel (voice of newcomer Anthony Gonzalez) dreams of becoming an accomplished musician like his idol, Ernesto de la Cruz (voice of Benjamin Bratt). Desperate to prove his talent, Miguel finds himself in the stunning and colorful Land of the Dead following a mysterious chain of events. Along the way, he meets charming trickster Hector (voice of Gael García Bernal), and together, they set off on an extraordinary journey to unlock the real story behind Miguel’s family history.

“COCO” will be released in U.S. theaters on November 22, 2017.

 

7 Reasons to Love Disney Pixar COCO, my COCO movie review

There is so much to love about COCO. I could go on and on in my COCO movie review, but I don’t want to give away too much and I certainly don’t want to spoil anything. What I can tell you is that there are 7 reasons you and your kids will LOVE Disney Pixar COCO.

  • A boy follows his dreams. How many of us have had something we are passionate about? Sometimes our parents support us. Other times they may not understand. Miguel is that child in all of us, who has something he is passionate about. In COCO we ALL become part of his journey as he follows his dream while also trying to be respectful of his family’s beliefs and wishes.

Disney Pixar COCO Movie Poster

  • It’s an adventure story complete with a cast of characters. In COCO, Miguel’s quest to follow his passion takes him on an adventure between the Land of the Living to the Land of the Dead. There are moments full of suspense, moments with challenges Miguel must overcome, moments you will laugh, and new and lively characters he meets, (yes even in the Land of the Dead.)
The U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar's "Coco"

HOLLYWOOD, CA – NOVEMBER 08: Guitarist Federico Ramos at the U.S. Premiere of Disney-Pixar’s “Coco” at the El Capitan Theatre on November 8, 2017, in Hollywood, California. (Photo by Jesse Grant/Getty Images for Disney)

  • The music of COCO will have you wanting to sing along. It’s been almost a week since the red carpet premiere of Disney Pixar COCO and still the song “Remember Me” is playing in my head. I had to come home and look up the video to find the lyrics. There is such a range of beautiful music in COCO. I can’t wait to tell you more about that music of COCO in an upcoming story. For now, you can get the Disney Pixar COCO soundtrack by clicking our affiliate Amazon link. Take a listen as Anthony Gonzalez sings us Remember Me and Alanna Ubach sings us a lullaby she sings to her newborn baby.

 

  • Animation like you’ve never seen before. Yes, there have been skeletons in movies before, but never like this. With colorful skeletons and Alebrijes flying through the air, new computer programs had to be coded and created to animate characters not only so they would be realistic but also so they would be relatable and not scary. You can read more about the animation in my article, Bringing the Disney Pixar Coco Skeletons to Life through Technology, Crafts, and Jokes.

Bringing the Disney Pixar Coco Skeletons to Life through Technology, Crafts, and Jokes

  • The most incredible vibrant art. The Land of the Dead, the cemetery are some of the most beautiful scenes you will see in a movie. The cemetery has such a range of oranges, reds and more from the candles to the marigolds. In the Land of the Dead, we see a city with multi-level buildings with lights that each turn on and off in different patterns. Each building has its own character and unique features.
COCO Animation Land of the Dead

Sets Supervisor Chris Bernardi at “Coco” Long Lead Press Day, which included a filmmaker roundtable, presentations about the music, story, characters and set designs of the film, on August 3, 2017 at Pixar Animation Studios in Emeryville, Calif. (Photo by Deborah Coleman / Pixar)

  • Family matters! In Disney Pixar COCO, not only is Miguel interested in following his passions but he is also curious about his own family. When he knocks off a picture from the offendra he becomes suddenly curious about the man (without a face) in the picture. He immediately thinks it’s Ernesto de la Cruz and that Ernesto is his grandfather and the man who can give him the blessing he needs to return back home. We are also witness to what happens when family members have a misunderstanding and how they can come back from that.

Disney Pixar Coco movie poster

  • Traditions are important! Every family has them. If your family celebrates Día De Los Muertos or has a connection to the Mexican culture you may recognize your own family in COCO. If you don’t COCO is such a great way to get introduced to the Day of the Dead holiday. It’s not complicated. It’s not scary. It’s a beautiful day to celebrate and remember loved ones who have passed on. It’s a way to open the door to discussions with your kids about what happens when you die. The all-Latino cast of Disney Pixar COCO told us time and time again during the interviews, how thankful they were to have a film that celebrates their culture with people that look like them. Even Anthony Gonzalez’s mom took some time to come up to us, after our interview with Anthony to thank us for showing our support for a movie that is so important to the Hispanic community and does so much to bring us all together.

 

Frequently Asked Questions about Disney Pixar COCO

“Does the COCO explain what Dia de los a Muertos is? How it’s celebrated and why?” asked Carolina Limongi Estrada

Yes, Carolina. COCO does a wonderful job of explaining what Dia de los a Muertos is and why it’s celebrated. The movie shows a lot of the symbolism and explains the meaning behind the items such as the offendra, the marigold path, candy skulls, etc.

Rachel Gross Mallard asked, “I’d like to know why they didn’t release Coco in time for Day of the Dead this year?”

Disney Pixar COCO was released in Mexico before being released in the United States. It was released prior to Dia de los a Muertos there.

Is COCO scary? Will the skeletons and Alebrijes be scary to my children?

COCO is not scary. Special care was taken to create skeletons and Alebrijes that could be relatable and still somewhat realistic.

Who is Coco? Why is the movie named COCO?

Coco is Miguel’s grandmother. I can’t tell you any more than that without spoiling some of the movie.

Do you have a question you want answered? Comment below.

 

Disney Pixar COCO Videos

Disney Pixar COCO Movie Trailers

Take a look at the first Disney Pixar COCO movie trailer that was released March 15, 2017.

This Disney·Pixar’s COCO movie trailer was released June 7, 2017.

Then we got to see more in this COCO movie trailer.

The final COCO movie trailer.

 

Disney Pixar COCO Video Clips from the Movie

“A Great, Great Rescue” clip

 

“Not Like the Rest” clip

 

“Anything to Declare?” clip

 

Disney Pixar COCO Behind the Scenes Featurettes

“Crafting Coco” Featurette

 

“Mariachi Plaza” Clip

 

COCO Dante’s Lunch

We’ll share more Disney Pixar COCO behind the scenes featurette as they become available.

 

Disney Pixar COCO Behind the Scenes Stories

Our stories with the creative team at Disney Pixar COCO about how they created the characters and animation in the COCO movie.

Animating Disney Pixar COCO

 

My upcoming Disney Pixar COCO Interviews with the cast and producers

 

Disney Pixar COCO Printables & More

Disney Pixar COCO Printables & Coloring Sheets

Disney Pixar COCO coloring Sheet

 

Here are my Disney Pixar COCO stories from the #PixarCocoEvent press junkets

 

Disney Pixar Coco press junket interviews

Photo Credit Disney

 

Here are the Disney Pixar COCO stories you can look forward to seeing:

  • Thursday, 11/16 my COCO Benjamin Bratt (voice of “Ernesto de la Cruz”) interview
  • Monday, 11/20 my COCO Gael Garcia Bernal (voice of “Hector”) interview
  • Wednesday, 11/22 my listing of A Few of My Favorite Disney Pixar COCO Gifts 
  • Monday, 11/27 my COCO Anthony Gonzalez (voice of “Miguel”) & Alanna Ubach (voice of “Mama Imelda”) interview
  • Tuesday, 11/28 my COCO Director Lee Unkrich, Writer & Co-Director Adrian Molina and Producer Darla K. Anderson interview
  • Wednesday, 11/29 my story sharing the significance of “The Music of COCO”
  • Thursday, 11/30 my COCO Edward James Olmos (voice of “Chicharron”) interview

Disney Pixar Coco movie poster

 

Click over to read more from our #PixarCocoEvent series

For more information about COCO visit the COCO Official Channels

 

COCO opens in theatres everywhere on November 22, 2017!

 

Need help selecting family-friendly movies? Visit Jersey Family Fun’s Family Movie Reviews series. Want to plan a fun family movie night? Visit our Family Movie Night series.

 

Family movie night

Please note Jersey Family Fun does participate in affiliate programs. If you use our link to purchase products, a small commission does go to Jersey Family Fun to support our free services to readers, but this does not affect your price.

Posted in: All, Family Entertainment, Family Friendly TV & Movies

Tagged as: , , , , , , , ,

Jennifer Auer is the hyperlocal mom blogger who runs Jersey Family Fun. From New Jersey, this mom of 3 boys just can’t sit still! Her husband likes to say she’s a work-at-home mom who never stays home. Jennifer started traveling as a child and hasn’t stopped since. Instead of letting her husband and boys slow her down, she brings them along! Did you know that boys behave better when they are out exploring? As her boys start to become teens there’s still so many places she wants to discover with them both across the U.S. and internationally. She has been a Jersey Girl for 20+ years, and a Jersey Mom for 8+ years and a New Jersey mom blogger for 7 years, although she'd much rather be referred to as an influencer or just by name. She has a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a focus on Entrepreneurship from Bryant University in Rhode Island.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *